How To Become A Notary In Florida?

A notary public is a public officer. They have the license to administer oaths, take affidavits and statutory declaration, witness the signing of documents and deeds and be the agent of power-of attorney. In addition to Maine and South Carolina, Florida notaries can approve and sign marriage ceremony documents.

This is an initial step to identify any fraud that might happen with issues related to Government documents. The signer is bound by penalty of perjury, in case of fraudulent claims during oaths and signing of documents. There are clear steps defined by the Florida State to become a notary. You can get detailed information on

Filling the application form

To apply for becoming a Florida Notary, you should be at least 18 years of age. You are expected to furnish legal documents stating your date of birth, like birth certificate. Another criterion is that you should be a Florida resident, legally. Proof of residency like driver’s license, Florida car registration or Florida voter ID is sufficient.

If you are a permanent resident alien, then you have to submit Declaration of Domicile. You have to obtain this form only at your county courthouse. You need to swear that no legal regulatory or disciplining action is taken against you. If you have been charged with felony in the past, you need to submit the following documents:


  • Written statement regarding your charges
  • A photocopy of the judgment related to it
  • A document declaring your civil rights are restored.

You should include a “character of reference” document, from a person who knows you. But, he should not be related to you. When you are submitting the application, it means that you have read the Chapter 117 of the Florida Statutes. It says you are aware of the duties, responsibilities and limitations, as said in the Chapter.

Also, the Electronic Commerce Bill requires that you should have finished a three-hour interactive classroom coaching from a State approved institute, at the time of submitting your application. This is mandatory for all new applicants.

Apply to become a Florida Notary

An online Notary Public Commission Application should be filled. Print it out and in the presence of a Notary Public, you and your character reference should sign. The Florida law needs you to be bonded for $7500, with any of the State approved bonding company. This is to insure the public, against any damages due to your actions as notary.

Your bonding company will submit your application online and the documents included are:

  • Completed and verified application
  • Character reference
  • Documents related to residency, domicile and felony
  • Certificate of three-hour course completion
  • $39 as fee


If approved, you will get your Notary Commission Certificate, in two to three weeks. Your notary stamp and seal can be purchased from your bonding company. Always keep a notary journal for keeping track of the legal documents you handle and to protect yourself in future. Get yourself an insurance liability, in case you get sued.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *